Posted in In Progress

The Joys and Perils of Gaming While Writing


I’ll admit it. I got sucked back into the World of Warcraft MMORPG this holiday season, but fortunately for my writing the urge to play it is waning. That should mean I’m spending more time focusing on writing, right?

Not exactly.

My husband gifted me “Long Live the Queen” on Steam and I’ve been hooked. It’s a lot like Princess Maker 2, a game I was obsessed with a few years ago, but during that time I wasn’t really that far in the weeds with my writing projects. Now I have more projects than concentration and I’m really behind schedule with the Library draft. However, I was able to give my mom a copy of what I had so far. She was absolutely thrilled with it! I think her exact words were, “In the first paragraph you were able to capture how the library looked and smelled. It’s like I was back there again.” She had to put it down because it was making her tear up and we had my best friend and her family over. 

Later on, when we had went down town with everyone, she finished reading through it and wrote me an email glowing with praise. At the New Year’s party she had a few days later, we talked about it at length. When my other best friend came over, she got in on the conversation and the rest of the night mom regaled us with tales of her childhood growing up poor in Scotland. 

That was a couple of weeks ago and now I’m mired down in hesitation, because I want to make it great but I’m nervous that I can’t, causing the dreaded writer’s block everyone’s heard about. Honestly, its just a short term for “I want to make it perfect and I’m scared that I can’t.” I’m finding the kick in the arse I need to get back to the writer’s board. That’s where my gaming comes in to rock the boat.

For the last four months solid I haven’t had a moment to breathe. From my day job to family and social engagements and trying to lose weight, repair the damage to my knee I’ve been exhausted and creatively spent, so I turned to my games to help me through the night. It’s been a good stress reviler and a lot of fun to play with my best guy, running through the undead lands with Sausagearms and Lambchopped. Now it’s time to put that down and get back to work. That’s the part I’m having trouble with.

January always starts off with the best of intentions and soon falls right on it’s face breaking the two grown up teeth up front that it’s so proud of. Finally I have time to breathe and I’m suffering from something that looks like apathy and smells like lazy, even though I know that it’s just burn out. So I figure, “Hey, baby steps. Rome wasn’t built in a day and your ass didn’t get that big overnight.” I’m cutting myself some slack here. I think it was a major accomplishment that I made gluten-free chocolate chip cookies for my hubby AND cleaned out an entire closet by myself. Next up I need to learn bellydancing for my cosplay I’ll be wearing in summer at the comic con and…..

……

……

I need to rethink how many hobbies I have. It’s getting ugly in here.

 

Author:

writer, artist, daydreamer

One thought on “The Joys and Perils of Gaming While Writing

  1. I like to keep my gaming light while I’m writing something serious…you know, play games that don’t require much thought. That way my brain can spin a tale while I’m gaming…I don’t know, that’s just me but then again, since having kids, being a serious gamer has kind of set on the back burner.

Leave a Reply

